If I had to pick two guy's to win this event it would had been Nat Young or Kolohe. Steamer Lane suits both their surfing styles. Kolohe being a regular foot with the inside wedge and for Nat his backside snaps are unmatched. Other notable surfers included Griffin Colapinto, Ian Crane, Brett Simpson and a few others. Past winners have included Jordy Smith, Taj Burrow, Richie Collins, Martin Potter, Tom Curren. It's a shame that the O'Neill Coldwater Classic is now only a 1* in which you would think the WSL shouldn't even allow surfers like Kolohe or Griffin surf in. We do know the tour needs all the publicity it can get and O'Neill is not dipping inside their pocket due to hard times.
November 22, 2022 — Jack English